Dear friends of UW Ob-Gyn,

It is my great honor and pleasure to announce that Dr. Ellen Hartenbach will be the first Gloria E. Sarto, MD, PhD, Chair in Women's Health and Health Equity Research. There are many accolades to go around, but I will attempt to summarize in just a few words the tremendous contributions of Drs. Sarto and Hartenbach to our department and the field of women’s health.

Because of Dr. Gloria Sarto, the world is more aware today of the profound importance of women's health care. Dr. Sarto’s work has inspired the academy, Congress, and federal policymakers to support women’s health in spirit, funding, and action. The UW Ob-Gyn Sarto chair was established through the generosity of Dr. Sarto and Lisa Fromm-Sarto, along with dozens of their friends and colleagues.

Our colleague Dr. Ellen Hartenbach is a stellar clinician, outstanding educator and mentor, and dedicated researcher. Dr. Hartenbach is an inspiration and role model to trainees, faculty, and staff in our department, as well as peers in our field. She is a shining example of what it means to provide compassionate care and positive leadership.

Dr. Deborah Hobbins - Obstetrics and Gynecology, Madison WI
Chairs and professorships are one of the best ways for us to retain and recruit top physicians and scientists, and we are incredibly excited to add the Gloria E. Sarto Chair to our growing list of honors.

Most sincerely,

Laurel W. Rice, MD
Ben Miller Peckham, MD, PhD, Chair and Professor
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Medicine and Public Health


Dr. Deborah Hobbins - Obstetrics and Gynecology, Madison WI

Deborah Hobbins
Director of Development

McConnell Hall
1010 Mound Street
Madison, WI 53715