OB/GYN Medical Student Award/Scholarship Recipients
Published: 4/22/2010

The Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology is pleased to announce the 2009-10 medical student awards. The T.A. Leonard Award. is given out to medical students in recognition of exemplary performance during their third year OB/GYN rotation. Michael Kehoe and Jennifer Barr, both 4th year students, were selected to receive this award. They will each be honored at the UW School of Medicine and Public Health Medical Student Award Ceremony on May 6.

Micaela O’Neil, 4th year medical student, is the recipient of the Dr. Samuel G. Perlson Scholarship. This award is provided by Mrs. Jo Schwartz Perlson in memory of her late husband, Sam, who graduated from the Medical School in 1951, and spent his career as a practicing physician specializing in obstetrics and gynecology, and serving as an active member in the UW Medical Alumni Association. This scholarship is awarded to a fourth year medical student planning to pursue a career in obstetrics and gynecology who has demonstrated outstanding abilities as a scholar, and who has also exhibited commensurate outstanding humanistic qualities. Micaela will also be honored with the scholarship during the May 6 event.